Featured Lesson Learned

Discussion in 'Triumph General Discussion' started by Mongoose, Jul 10, 2023.

1. Mongoose

Mongoose Well-Known Member

Feb 19, 2023
    Georgia
    Yesterday, we finally got a break from the heat and rain, so I headed up to Suches, Georgia, up in the mountains. There is a facility there called TWO, (Two Wheels Only) a full service resort for motorcyclists. After a Coke, and some in-depth BSing with other riders, a most important facet of the experience, I headed home. I was thinking about the so-called "Lean Indicators " Triumph puts on their bikes, which I scraped several times that day, and thinking what a stupid thing they were. After all, I've been riding for 60 years, and I know how to handle the twisties. As I came into a really tight right hand sweep, I was going too fast, and began to feel the pull. A truck was coming from the opposite direction, close to the center line, and I almost panicked! Thank GOD, I was able to brake, gear down, and almost s--- myself!!!!!

There is a reason they put lean indicators on Triumphs........Lesson learned, or reminded thereof. 60 years experience doesn't mean squat when riding beyond one's skill level.......The Mad Mongoose.....OUT!

• Like Like x 9
    • Agree Agree x 4
    • Funny Funny x 1
  2. nickjaxe

nickjaxe Active Member

Sep 2, 2020
    Cheshire UK
    Thanks for sharing......

• Agree Agree x 4
  3. Higerty

Higerty Member

Oct 14, 2022
    Swansea, South Wales
    It's a new one on me. Is that a US Triumph thing or something that needs translating into UK English?

• Agree Agree x 2
  4. Armando Morales

Armando Morales Noble Member

Mar 29, 2021
    Mexico
    Glad you are ok and it is another lesson.
    When I scrape the pegs I'm making an effort to slow down and take it easy

• Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  5. Mongoose

Feb 19, 2023
    Georgia