Newbie From Jozi

Discussion in 'Newbies Hangout' started by Jozi_007, May 31, 2024.

1. Jozi_007

Jozi_007 New Member

May 30, 2024
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    Hi All, I'm an expat Pom, been living in South Africa for more or less 40 years; at first in Port Elizabeth (now Gqeberha) and then in East London (perhaps soon to be Emonti). When I retired, 4 years ago, I moved to Johannesburg (also known as Jo'burg, Joeys, Jozi or Egoli) because my wife works at the University of Johannesburg.

I have been a biker since I was 16, starting off with a Yamaha 100cc twin (YL1) and progressing to a Honda CB175 (on which I passed my test, while at uni in Loughborough) and then, when I got my degree (in Mechanical Engineering) a Kawasaki Z650.

There was a bit of a hiatus when I moved to South Africa, but I remained interested and rode anything with two wheels if the opportunity presented itself, including the Yamaha 125 I bought for my wife to commute to work, and later the Honda 400-4 she progressed to. I learned to ride on gravel roads, of which there are a lot in the Eastern Cape, and even on sand dunes on an XT500.