Newbie And A Bobber Black

Discussion in 'Newbies Hangout' started by Randolf, Apr 5, 2018.

1. Randolf

Randolf New Member

Apr 5, 2018
    Germany, Berlin
    Hey Folks,

hope you all are doing well.
    I am a 33 years old newbie from Berlin, Germany and actually making my motorcycle license. I put my eyes on the new Bobber Black, but unfortunately no one around got one to share their experience with me. So for all the Bobber drivers out there, do you think the bobber black is a good choice for a first bike?

I would be happy to hear your opinion.

Best regards from Berlin

• Like Like x 1
  2. Sprinter

Sprinter Kinigit

Aug 17, 2014
    uk
    Hi.

• Like Like x 1
  3. dilligaf

dilligaf Guest

Hi mate and welcome
    It’s BLACK :cool: nothing else matters :p

• Agree Agree x 2
  4. GaleForceEight

GaleForceEight Noble Member

Nov 1, 2017
    Southend
    #4 GaleForceEight, Apr 5, 2018
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2018
    Hi Randolph, and welcome.

Probably the biggest issue with the 2017 'Bobber' that I found when taking it for a ride was the weak front brakes that meant that stopping required more back brake and a slightly stronger fistful of brake than most modern equivalents.

This has been sorted with the 2018 models by introducing the twin disc fronts. It was first go with a bike that holds you into the seat because your feet are more forward than the sit up and sports bikes I used to, but it had docile handling and was easy to manoeuvre at low speeds. The gearbox was slick and easy, and pulling away was merely a matter of relaxing your clutch hand and she'd go even in second (I didn't try third but I am sure that the lazy high torque engine would manage it happily unless you dump the clutch hard).

The seat is low so getting your feet down is easy, but you have to place them wider than you might on a sports bike to avoid catching your boots on the pegs.