Is Anyone Riding Out Today?

Discussion in 'Lounge' started by johne, Dec 3, 2023.

1. johne

johne Standing on the shoulders of dwarves.

Jan 16, 2020
    Where the Wolds meet the sea
    #1 johne, Dec 3, 2023
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2023
    Many moons ago when I had to work for a living and was a skinny youth, I had to commute to work in all weathers on my trusty RD200 Yamaha. The commute wasn't that far, about 6 miles each way, but todays weather here in the UK reminds me of that time when I went slipping and sliding through the snow and ice to get to work for 7:30 am. There were no buses running that early from the village where I lived, so it was the bike or walk. I know I won't be alone in having recollections like that, I bet many of you had their motorbike or moped as your sole source of transport at one time or another, perhaps you still do? Arriving at work with semi frost bitten fingers and toes.:cold_sweat:

As I sit at home in my privileged position of not having to go out to work (or for any other reason) today as its very wintery everywhere throughout the land as far as I know, I'm also aware its Sunday, but some people are still out there working. I just wondered if any of you guys /gals are heading out on two wheels today for whatever reason. Mebbe forced into it by work commitments or is anyone out for pleasure (if you could call it that). Just wonderin'

I should add the stupid half of my brain (probably more like 95% of it) could be tempted to get togged up and go for a short spin if it wasn't for the fact all my bikes are tucked up dry and warm in the garage and also SORNed for the winter.

motorbike-covered-in-snow-uk-winter-snowing-roads-road-britain-weather-D2DE16.jpg

motorbike-covered-in-snow-uk-winter-snowing-roads-road-britain-weather-D2DE16.jpg

• Like Like x 4
  2. Pegscraper

Pegscraper Elite Member

Jun 12, 2020
    Yorkshire