Hello from Wigan

Discussion in 'Newbies Hangout' started by ren, Jul 13, 2013.

1. ren

ren Member

Jul 10, 2013
    wigan
    Hello,
    I recently passed my bike test and although ive been riding a Honda shadow 125 for 2 years, I was persuaded to buy a different style of bike. How glad I am that I listened, as im now the proud owner of a 2005 triumph speed four. I'm really made up with this bike, BUT when I came back from a short ride out today, I noticed some fuid leaking out from underneath my bike. There's a tube hanging down which connects to the coolant reservoir under the seat. The engine was very hot as was the radiator. The radiator fan never kicked in either. When I turned the key on again the temp said 288c. I don't know a great deal about bikes and was wondering if anyone knew what this problem is and how to fix this.
    Thank you all. :upyeah:

2. Richard H

Richard H Noble Member

Oct 26, 2012
    Swadlincote Derbyshire England
    Hi Welcome to the forum. Does sound an overheating problem, the fluid leaking is probably coolant. When the fluid gets too hot or boils it expands and will have overflowed from the expansion tank under the seat.
    The fan should kick in when the engine temp gets up about 3/4 up the safe operating range, if its not there may be several reasons:
    The fan may be jammed by a stone or debris, check it freely rotates by hand. If it turns freely, it may be the relay or fuse that powers it, check the fuse has not blown.
    If all else fails take the bike either to a dealer or get the fan, relay and fuse checked out by an auto electrician.
    My advice is do not run the engine when it gets too hot, you will damage it. Most bikes will get enough cooling air when doing 30mph or more not under high load to not need the fan but its when stuck in slow traffic, climbing steep slow roads the fan or fans are required.

• Like Like x 1
  3. chrispy

chrispy Well-Known Member

May 1, 2013
    Salisbury,wiltshire