Featured Everything Old Is New Again! A Road Trip To The Past

Discussion in 'Other Bikes' started by Sandi T, Sep 1, 2024.

1. Sandi T

Sandi T It's ride o'clock somewhere!
    Subscriber

Dec 3, 2018
    Tucson Arizona
    #1 Sandi T, Sep 1, 2024
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2024
    When my hubby, Steve, and I first started dating he had a 2001 HD Fat Boy pretty much just like the one that Arnold rode in "Terminator 2: Judgement Day". In fact, it was when Steve first saw that movie that he knew he had to have a Harley Fat Boy. And it was that bike on which I first started riding--pillion. That was in 2009. Shortly after I started riding my own bike, Steve and I began taking road trips and he wound up with a Road King so sold the Fat Boy to a friend. That friend proceeded to mod it in ways that weren't "exactly" what Steve would have had for the bike. ;):joy: Shortly after the friend bought it, he traded it for a touring bike. And Steve's Fat Boy was gone.

Screenshot 2024-08-30 at 8.47.57 PM.png

Then began the regrets. Steve has always regretted selling that bike and actually tried for several years to locate it--yes, that particular motorcycle--with no luck. Since then, for about the last ten years or so, he toyed with the idea of getting another 2001 Fat Boy, spending time on Cycle Trader, Craig's list, and the like. Well, a few weeks ago he found one that seemed absolutely perfect in the Palm Springs, CA area. After lots of phone conversations and photo exchanges with Sam, the motorcycle shop owner who was selling it on consignment, Steve, Russell, and I hit the road last weekend with truck and trailer to bring the bike to its new home!

Screenshot 2024-09-01 at 1.06.48 PM.png

Here's a photo of Steve's first 2001 Fat Boy taken in November of 2013. When he sold it, it had about 35,000 miles on the odometer.

IMG_0104.JPG