Chain Adjustment…

Discussion in 'Technical Help' started by MattGaydon, Apr 26, 2023.

1. MattGaydon

MattGaydon Noble Member

Jun 11, 2015
    Godalming
    Forgive my ignorance but I’m new to bike maintenance so unsure of ALOT but willingly trying…!

When you adjust the chain, do you have the bike on a paddock stand or just on the side stand? I’ve seen conflicting views/vids on this so not sure.

To me it seems like the bike should be on the side stand so the weight of the bike is on the chain but if someone could clarify that would be ace!

Thanks all!

2. Notso

Notso Senior Member

Dec 17, 2018
    Solihull
    #2 Notso, Apr 26, 2023
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2023
    Side stand usually, although if the tension is correct then you can measure on both so you know the correct value in each case.

• Agree Agree x 1
  3. Linx

Linx Well-Known Member

Mar 14, 2020
    Stratford Upon Avon, UK
    #3 Linx, Apr 26, 2023
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2023
    Doesn't matter. The weight of the bike is still compressing the shock a little with both.

4. MattGaydon

MattGaydon Noble Member

Jun 11, 2015
    Godalming
    Thanks guys that's really helpful!

5. RickM46

RickM46 Active Member

Oct 12, 2023
    US
    Hi Guys, a little late to this post but my 2 cents.
    I have a new 2023 Bonne T120 Black I bought last October.
    Checked the chain at about 300 miles on the center stand and found that there was 1 3/4 inches slack in the chain.

So, I set about to do the adjustment. Found there were no adjustment marks on the frame but just kept track of how many turns on the adjustment bolts. I Adjusted down to 1 1/8 inches.

With that, I noticed that clutch engagement was a lot smoother. Also used Lucas chain lube on the chain; no wax in it and its foam seemed to penetrate with not much spin off.

6. Glenn2926

Glenn2926 First Class Member
    Subscriber

Dec 21, 2021
    Yorkshire