2023 Bonneville T120 Questions

Discussion in 'Bonneville' started by RickM46, Oct 13, 2023.

1. RickM46

RickM46 Active Member

Oct 12, 2023
    US
    Hello folks,
    I am a Triumph newbie and am about to pull the trigger on purchasing a new 2023 Bonneville T120. I have owned many cycles over the years: 6 Hondas, 1 1971 Triumph Tiger, and a Harley Road King Classic. Stopped riding a 6 years ago and have now been bit by the bug.

Watched a lot of videos on the T120 but have a few questions:
    Any oil leaks?
    Suggestions on oil filters; seen adverts for K&N?
    Brand of synthetic oil suggestions?
    Is the gas tank rubber mounted? Tiger gas tank was hard mounted to frame and was a speaker/amplifier for engine noise.
    Any mechanical issues?
    Thanks, RickM46

2. RickM46

RickM46 Active Member

Oct 12, 2023
    US
    Crickets.
    Well, since I've picked up my Jet Black T120 on Monday, I am thoroughly impressed with build quality, fit, finish; no offense BUT it's like it was made in Japan. No issues right out of the box. My comparison is to my last triumph - 1971 Triumph Tiger a ways back.

No oil leaks (dry as a bone); no rattles; no sounds amplified by the tank; shifts are smooooth; engine runs smoooth; electronic systems are first rate; Michelin tires; at 3K, the dragon awakens; haven't really pushed it yet but get the feeling when I do hold on with both hands or kiss your arse goodbye.

Bought 3 Triumph oil filters and 4 quarts of oil from my dealer: 10W50 Castrol Power 1 synthetic for motorcycles $16 a quart (not to be found at the big W).
    So far so good.

• Like Like x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
  3. learningtofly

learningtofly He’s not the Messiah, he’s a very naughty boy!
    Subscriber

Sep 25, 2018
    Hertfordshire
    It s a great bike (I have one, also bought new not long ago). Once run in you’ll find it surprisingly rapid if you want it to be.

• Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. RickM46

RickM46 Active Member

Oct 12, 2023